Edulix MVP
Edulix MVP

reef_d Offline
Edulix MVP
Edulix MVP

Likes Given: 0
Unisearch: Link
HOWTO improve one's profile
Yeah, I've been using Linux for about 4 years now so gotten used to the HOWTOs.

I graduated in June 2007 from University of Mumbai with a B.E. in Computer Engineering. My final year percentage was a poor 59 and my gross aggregate is just about 55%. Don't mean to give excuses and whine, but I attribute the poor performance to:

1. The Education System:

Everyone knows that marks secured from MU is by rote. People from other universities please comment on your respective universities. Now I had known basic C++ and Assembly Language programming and such from Junior College and was so interested in the field of Computers, that I had to just go for Engineering (really don't know why I didn't even attempt the JEE or AIEEE). Comparing the syllabus of MU with other universities, it's on par with the undergrad course of most foreign universities. However the way things are done here is horrible. In spite of having read and acquired strong conceptual understanding of subject from books by some of the best authors(Cormen, Tannenbaum, Ullman, Knuth, Richie), I constantly found myself in the 40 - 55 range. I started using Linux in my second year and by using Debian Sarge, I really understood OS concepts and such. Even gained in depth knowledge of the whole Software Engineering process and applied the concepts in my JAVA and Python programs. The interest in Computer Science just increased but the marks never did.

2. Internal Politics that are prevalent in many colleges

Really don't know what to say, but I missed out on my First Class by 9 marks just because of Term Work. Suffered from miserable Term Work in spite of having done many assignments on my own and practical programs on my own which were then copied from me!